Sound Opinions
Like every scholarly work, Sound Opinions has provided footnotes to help you navigate through the show.

Because let's face it--sometimes even we have no idea what Jim and Greg are saying.
Songs featured in this episode
Join the Mailing List
Contact Us


01-01-10 Footnotes
Show 214: Decade in Review, The Sound Opinions Mixtapes of the Decade

Listen to the MP3 Stream of this show: (link)
Download the Podcast: (Download the MP3)

1 First in the news, Jim and Greg discuss a story emerging out of the next decade. They talk to Wired writer Eliot Van Buskirk about his recent piece on the “Copyright Time Bomb.” As Eliot explains to Jim and Greg, the U.S. Copyright Act of 1976 poses a new threat to the major label system. Songs copyrighted after 1978 can be terminated by the author in 2013 (1979 in 2014, etc.) That means that if a musician sold his or her work to a label after 1978, they can choose to take it back and manage it independently in the next decade. Many labels rely on back cataloge revenue, so this will be a big hit to them. In addition, it may be another reason an artist chooses to go it independently and without a label.

2 Jim and Greg couldn’t welcome 2010 without looking at the decade past. The 2000s brought us N’Sync and the boy band explosion, but they also ushered in great change in terms of business and technology. As Jim and Greg discuss, advances in digital music were at the heart of all the decade’s major news—from lawsuits (Metallica vs. Napster, RIAA vs. consumers) to innovation in sound, marketing and distribution (Wilco, Radiohead, Nine Inch Nails). And while the Aughts were a time of industry revolution, there wasn’t necessarily a revolutionary sound. Jim thinks people may have been too shocked by technology to create something comparable to a punk, disco or grunge movement. But he and Greg are hopeful that something great is just waiting to come out of a basement near you.

3 Jim and Greg like to end every year with a good old-fashioned mixtape (presented as a new-fashioned mp3 stream). But this year they decided to go even further and compile their favorite songs of the entire decade. They pick highlights to play during this episode, and their entire playlists are below. You can also stream their full mixtapes:

Greg Kot’s Mixtape of the Decade
Launch Greg's Mixtape
1. The Strokes, “The Modern Age”
2. LCD Soundsystem, “Tribulations”
3. Art Brut, “Formed a Band”
4. Girl Talk, “Play Your Part (Pt. 1)
5. Screaming Females, “Bell”
6. Arcade Fire, “Wake Up”
7. Fiona Apple, “Not About Love”
8. Outkast, “Bombs Over Baghdad”
9. Rhymefest, “Bullet”
10. Legendary K.O., “George Bush…”
11. Kanye West, “Jesus Walks”
12. Gnarls Barkley, “Crazy”
13. DJ Danger Mouse, “December 4th”
14. Santogold, “L.E.S. Artistes”
15. M.I.A., “Bucky Done Gone”
16. Yeah Yeah Yeahs, “Maps”

Jim DeRogatis’ Mixtape of the Decade
Launch Jim's Mixtape
1. D’Angelo, “Devil’s Pie”
2. Common, “The Light”
3. Wilco, “War on War”
4. The Strokes, “The Modern Age”
5. The Flaming Lips, “Do You Realize”
6. Beck, “The Golden Age,”
7. Outkast, “Hey Ya”
8. Grandaddy, “Yeah Is What We Had”
9. Kanye West, “Jesus Walks”
10. Green Day, “American Idiot”
11. Common, “Testify”
12. LCD Soundsystem, “Daft Punk Is Playing at My House”
13. Art Brut, “Formed a Band”
14. Lily Allen, “Smile”
15. Grinderman, “No Pussy Blues”
16. Glenn Mercer, “Days to Come”
17. Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, “We Call Upon the Author”
18. David Byrne and Brian Eno, “The River”
19. Ida Maria, “I Like You So Much Better When You’re Naked”
20. Neko Case, “People Got A Lotta Nerve”

Songs Featured in Show #214
The Gap Band, “You Dropped a Bomb on Me,” Gap Band IV, 1982
N’Sync, “Bye Bye Bye,” No Strings Attached, 2000
Metallica, “St. Anger,” St. Anger, 2003
Radiohead, “Everything In Its Right Place,” Kid A, 2000
Radiohead, “15 Step,” In Rainbows, 2007
Neon Indian “Deadbeat Summer,” Psychic Chasms, 2009
The Flaming Lips, "Do You Realize," Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots, 2002
Beck, "The Golden Age," Sea Change, 2002
Outkast, "Hey Ya," Speakerboxxx/The Love Below, 2003
Grandaddy,""Yeah" is What We Had," Sumday, 2003
Wilco, "I Am Trying To Break Your Heart," Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, 2002
The Strokes, "Modern Age," Is This It, 2001
LCD Soundsystem, "Tribulations," LCD Soundsystem, 2005
Art Brut, "Formed a Band," Bang Bang Rock & Roll, 2005
Gnarls Barkley, "Crazy," St. Elsewhere, 2006
DJ Dangermouse, "December 4th," The Grey Album, 2004
The Nerves, "Hanging on the Telephone," The Nerves, 1986
Biz Markie, "Biz's Beat of the Day #1," Yo Gabba Gabba: Music Is Awesome, 2009
They Might Be Giants, "Science is Real," Here Comes Science, 2009
Cordell Jackson, "Rock N Roll Christmas," Rockabilly Christmas, 2000
Harry Nilsson, "Coconut," Nilsson Schmilsson, 1971

Site Map

Main Page

The Staff / Record Reviews / Message Board / Desert Island Jukebox / Audio
About Sound Opinions / Photos / Links / Mailing List

  Contact Us